Current Visitors

We have 94 guests and no members online


Welcome to the Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame!

The Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame is a non-profit organization incorporated in 1982 to enshrine and honor individuals or groups who have excelled in motor sports in the state of Michigan.
Please view our list of Inductees. They are listed on the "Inductees" page and are listed alphabetically. Click on the name to read the biography. The number next to their name is the year inducted. Those with a * are deceased.
The FAQ page has been updated to be more in line with where we are and what we are doing in 2019 and beyond.
Please review our Guidelines for consideration for induction on our Nominations page as they have been revised effective April 1, 2019. Biographies fpr consideration in 2022 must be received by March 15, 2022 and should be in electronic form. (Microsoft Word is best) although typed and copied is acceptable as well. 
      The Class of 2020 has been selected by our Board of Directors and Living Inductees just as in years past. While our voting process started a little late due to complications of the Corona Virus, your Board of Directors worked via e-mail, snail mail, and phone to get a final ballot put together and out to the voters by earlyJuly. Our announcement of "The Class of 2020" is as follows: The 2020 Inductees are Scott Diehl and Rusty Daggett in the other than Driver Category. Our Drag Racers are John Bugenski and Arlen Fadely. From the Other Motor Sports category are Road Racer Danny Kellermeyer and Snowmobile Racer Dana Wiltse. Our Oval Track, Historical Era sees three drivers from days gone by in Dick Crup, Chet Miller, and Eldon Schrader. Finally, our Oval Track Modern Era inductees are Ron Allen and Brett Mann. Thank You to all of the Board Members, Past Board Members, and Past Inductees who cast thier votes and sent in their Ballots, it really makes a difference.

    The Board of Directors met on June 9, 2021 to tally the votes of the past inductees and past and present Board Members to determine the 10 inductees to the Class of 2021 for the Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame (MMSHoF).

   Representing those members in the “Other than Driver” category are, Gary Howe, the famed promoter and owner of the Kalamazoo Speedway who has come up with many innovative racing programs and is the home of the prestigious “Kalamazoo Klash. Ed “Big Ed” Inloes, longtime announcer at various tracks in the state and radio show host joins Gary Howe. Ed has been instrumental in the formation of the MARFC/MSTRC Annual Bowling Tournament which raises funds for those less fortunate in the racing community. Ed is a Tom Carnegie Announcer of the Year winner as well a MMSHoF Mick Schuler Media Award winner and was the longtime partner in Race Talk Radio with the Late Larry Loynes.

  Representing the “Drag Racing” category is Angelo Giampetroni, founder of the famous Gratiot Auto Supply and longtime sponsor of numerous winning Drag Racers and supplier to the custom car and hot rodding community. Joining Angelo is the Late, Robert “Poncho” Rendon who was the owner of the famed “Detroit Tiger”, “Frito Bandito”, and “Desperado” line of Funny Cars and Top Fuel Dragsters that were driven by Hall of Fame drivers such as the Late Dick Lahaie, Connie Kalitta, and Shirley Muldowney. Incidentally, Poncho carried sponsorship from Gratiot Auto Supply.

  Representing the “Other Motorsports” category are famed SCCA Pro Rally America Racer out of Plymouth, Michigan, Doug Shepherd who has won numerous titles and races. Joining Doug is Scott Harvey who himself is a member of the SCCA Hall of Fame and the Mopar Fame as well as being another extremely accomplished Rally driver who himself has made numerous contributions to the World Rally organization as well as the FIA.

  Representing the “Oval Track Historical Era” for drivers who started their careers at least fifty years ago are the Late Joe Boyer Jr. who was the 1924 winner of the Indianapolis 500 and lost his life in Altoona, Pennsylvania in September of 1924 after sustaining injuries in a racing accident. Joining Joe is Ben Snider from Brooklyn, Michigan. Ben was a standout driver at the Jackson Motor Speedway as well as Manchester, Spartan, Owosso, Butler, Crystal and others in Michigan as well as Indiana and Ohio.

   In the “Oval Track Modern Era” for drivers who started their careers at least 25 years ago the team of Gori11a Racing comprised of Chuck and Chris Silva. While both Silva brothers were drivers it was Chuck who excelled behind the wheel with Chris turning the wrenches and fine tuning the set-ups. The duo has competed in and won Super Late Model races all over Michigan, Indiana, and Ohio with the Main Event Series as well as garnering multiple Modified Championships at Auto City Speedway and the Dixie Motor Speedway. Joining the Silva boys will be second generation driver and the third member of the Simmons Family in the MMSHoF with Billy joining his Mother Joan, and Father “Lil” Richard as Inductees. Billy got his start driving his Dad’s figure 8 car at the Jackson Motor Speedway and over the years has won three Red White and Blue championships in the Figure 8 series in Indiana as well as competing in and winning championships in, Super Sixes, and winding down his career in the mid 2,000’s with the Michigan Legends Series where he won numerous feature races and Championships in 2000, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006. Billy also won the State Figure 8 Championship becoming only the first time a Father and Son have won that.

   The induction ceremony for the Class of 2022 is scheduled for Sunday, November 6, 2022 at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Mt. Pleasant, Michigan. The Class of 2022 will be announced in June or early July of 2022.

   Very sorry to bring the sad news that we ended the year with the loss of two more inductees. On December 22, 2021, 2004 Inductee Bob Keselowski aka "The Black Bandit" passed away. Also, on December 27, 2021, 1995 Inductee, Bill Hanes passed away. Funeral arrangements for both men were concluded on January 4 and 5, 2022 for both men. Condolences from the Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame to the Hanes and Keselowski Families.

  Please submit any new Biographies by March 1, 2022 either electronically in Word form to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or mail them to:

MMSHoF,  C/O Dave DeHem, 28047 Maple Forest Blvd. E., Harrison Twp., Mi. 48045. 

Please refer to the Nominations page for instructions on Biography preperation and submittal. If not sure of whether a person has had a biography submitted for consideration please do not hestite to contact the MMSHoF to obtain an answer. 

 The next meeting of the Board of Directors is on  April 6, 2022 and is closed to the public. Meetings in May, June, September, and October are open to the public while our Induction Ceremony serves as our November meeting. The Induction Ceremony is always open to the public to obtain tickets and attend. Meetings are normally the first Wednesday of each month. The May 2022 meeting will be on May 11, 2022 and is open to the public.

  Effective October 15, 2020, the phone number for the Hall of Fame has been changed to 586-202-2357.