About Us


Founded: 1980 by Dick Lee Executive Director, Emeritus

Incorporated: April 19, 1982 as a non-profit 501(c)(3) non-stock Michigan corporation.

Mission Statement: The initiation of the Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame was to:

  • Preserve the history of all types of motor racing in the state of Michigan, and make this history available to the public.
  • Recognize and pay tribute to those citizens of Michigan who have given of themselves, whatever their roles in racing may have been.
  • Enshrine and acknowledge the deeds of those people that excelled in motor sports.
  • Have a permanent museum where the public can examine motor sports racing memorabilia and recognize those who have been enshrined.

Organization: Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame is governed by a Board of Directors, President, Vice President, Treasurer, Corresponding Secretary coupled with several Standing Committees.

Board Members

Marty Blume
Roger Britt
Allan Brown – Treasurer
Rose Calabrase
Dan Crawford – Vice President
Dave DeHem – President
Terry Fitzwater
Darcie Fuzi-Dubie – Secretary
Duane Hernly
Tom Hernly
Don Holben
John Hotchkiss
Bill Lackey
Bill Layton
Jack McCourtie
Barry Meschke
Jim Pape
Leo Pego
Jim Szymanski
John Turnbull, Sr.
Daniel S. Van Koevering
Sandy Yost Groom